I Am My Mother’s Daughter

Standard

425469_10151242406834219_536542975_nWho am I?
I am brave.
I am a free spirit.
I am beautifully imperfect.
I am loving.
I am wonderfully weird.
I am a daydreamer.
I am real…what you see is what you get.
I am my mother’s daughter.
– Jane Emily

Yesterday I was in a store and I walked past a mirror and had to do a double take. I look so much like my mom that I thought I was seeing her for a moment. Looking back, I realize I WAS seeing her. Her beautiful face looks out through my own. We share so many of the same features. What a gift that was given to me. Now, when I am missing her, all I have to do is look in the mirror because there she is, looking right back at me. She left her mark on my life in so many ways. She taught me what it means to love with abandon. Love without expecting anything in return. What a beautiful legacy. I AM MY MOTHER’S DAUGHTER.

Merry Christmas, everyone!  I hope you have a blessed holiday and a happy new year!  Don’t let your circumstances define your happiness.  Happiness lives within you.

 

6 responses »

  1. I’m like that but i am the living image of my dad. And he was far from my hero. Or even moreso, I look exactly like my grandfather, who has a utterly sketchy history (and seeing my old man sold used cars, that’s saying something about my grandad!). Your lucky you can have such warm memories triggered by so simple a thing!

    • Yes, I think it is God’s gift to me. I saw it again today and broke down and cried…not due to sadness though…due to the amazing gift I possess. This is my first Christmas without my mom. I thought I would be really sad and maybe I am a little but I’m just really happy she’s in heaven and that I look like her. I’m choosing to focus on that so that I don’t focus on my own sadness. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas. Try to remember the good things about your Dad. My mom had her faults but it doesn’t do good to think about them too much. It’s the past. I am choosing to remember the good legacy she left me.

Leave a Reply

